East Midlands Universities Air Squadron

East Midlands Universities’ Air Squadron (EMUAS) is a RAF Volunteer Reserve (RAFVR) unit for students from De Montfort, Leicester, Lincoln, Loughborough, Nottingham and Nottingham Trent Universities.

Crest for East Midlands Universities Air Squadron


EMUAS is one of the larger University Air Squadrons with approximately 80 students and eight staff.

Around 35 students are recruited each year from the region's universities.

The Squadron's Flying Headquarters (FHQ) is at RAF College Cranwell, near Sleaford in Lincolnshire and the administrative staff are based at the Squadron's Town Headquarters (THQ), located near Nottingham’s University Park Campus.


    The East Midlands Universities’ Air Squadron will be represented at the following University Freshers’ Fairs in 2017:

    • Lincoln - Monday 18 September
    • De Montfort - Monday 25 September
    • Nottingham - Wednesday 27 and Thursday 28 September
    • Nottingham Trent, City Campus - Thursday 28 September
    • Leicester - Friday 29 September
    • Loughborough - Saturday 30 September and Sunday 1 October

    Initial interviews will take place at the Freshers Fair, applicants will be notified by email a few days later with the outcome and whether or not they have been successful in gaining a formal interview.

    Formal interviews will take place:

    • Lincoln University students at RAF Cranwell - 4 to 6 October
    • All other university students at the Squadron's Town Headquarters (Beeston, Nottingham) - 9 to 13 October

    {More info about joining a University Air Squadron.}

    Weekly training

    Weekly training nights take place during term time at the Squadron's Town Headquarters (THQ) near Nottingham’s University Park Campus.


    • 1941 - Formed as Nottingham University Air Squadron flying from RAF Newton for pre-entry training of RAF aircrew.
    • 1947 - The Squadron Crest was granted by HM King George VI and embodies the association between Nottingham, Robin Hood and the Squadron - the "Quiver of Arrows" is symbolic not only of the city of Nottingham but also the Squadron motto "Strength in Reserve".
    • 1951 - Started flying the De Havilland Chipmunks.
    • 1967 - Squadron officially renamed the East Midlands Universities’ Air Squadron in recognition of the support and recruitment of cadets from the Universities of Leicester, Loughborough
    • 1974 - After almost 25 years of service, the Chipmunks were replaced by five Scottish Aviation Bulldogs.
    • 2000 - RAF Newton closed as an airfield and EMUAS flying operations relocated to RAFC Cranwell.

    Associated Universities

    Contact details

    If you would like to find out more about EMUAS or enquire about joining the Squadron, please contact:

    Town Headquarters

    East Midlands UAS, 72 Broadgate, Beeston, Nottingham, NG9 2FW.

    Email: 6fts-emuas-adj@mod.uk

    Phone: 01159 678672

    Flying Headquarters

    East Midlands UAS, Royal Air Force College Cranwell, Sleaford, Lincs, NG34 8HB.

    Email: 6fts-emuas-oc@mod.uk or 6fts-emuas-ocdep@mod.uk or 6fts-emuas-cgi@mod.uk

    Phone: 01400 266919 or 01400 266920

    Connect with East Midlands Universities Air Squadron

    Using Internet Explorer 8? Please switch to using Chrome if you can.